Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowships

This call is now closed.

For information about 2018-19 applications, check back on this page later in the year.

The School is able to support a small number of Leverhulme Early Career Fellowships. We welcome expressions of interest from candidates wishing to conduct research in one, or more than one, of the institutes’ subject areas.

Early Career Fellowships

Please note the procedures for expressing interest for Fellowships commencing between September 2017 and May 2018 are outlined here.

The closing date for candidates wishing to be considered for School support in the 2017-18 round is Friday 6 January 2017. Candidates will be informed whether or not the School will support their applications by Friday 3 February 2017. The School will then provide further assistance to those candidates it has decided to support, in order to refine their applications to the Leverhulme Trust. These applications must then be submitted to the Leverhulme by its deadline of 4.00 pm on Thursday 2 March 2017.

Click here for further details about the Leverhulme Early Career Fellowships scheme. Please note that in order to be eligible, applicants must either hold a degree from a UK higher education institution at the time of taking up the Fellowship or at the time of the application deadline must hold an academic position in the UK (e.g. fixed-term lectureship, fellowship). The intention is to support the career development of those building an academic career within the UK.

You are strongly advised to discuss your proposal at an early stage with academic staff of the institute(s) in which you wish to be based. Please note that no application may be made to the Leverhulme Trust for a fellowship hosted at School without prior authorisation.

We are delighted to welcome Kathryn Santner and Hannah Cornwell as recently-awarded Fellows to the School through this scheme.

Please address enquiries to Rosemary Lambeth at rosemary.lambeth@sas.ac.uk.

Past Leverhulme Trust Fellows

The following held awards but outside the Early Career scheme as such:

  • Isabel Yaya (Sept 2012 - Aug 2013)
  • Sabrina Rahman (Apr 2012 - Mar 2013)
  • Stephen Enniss (Aug 2002 - Jun 2003)