The School of Advanced Study was created in 1994 and unites eight internationally renowned institutes in the humanities at the centre of the University of London. The School’s fundamental purpose is to maintain and develop its institutes’ resources for the benefit of the national and international research communities. 

The School's institutes, many of which have long and distinguished histories, include: