School of Advanced Study and Senate House Library appoint Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Operations

Monday 7 April 2014

Elaine Walters has been appointed as Deputy Chief Executive of the School of Advanced Study and Director of Operations for Senate House Library at the University of London. She will take up the appointment on 1 August 2014.

This role, previously responsible for the School of Advanced Study (SAS) only, will now work across both the Senate House Library and School of Advanced Study, providing operational leadership and accountability for the management of administrative services.

Professor Roger Kain CBE FBA, Dean and Chief Executive of the School and Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research, said ‘I am delighted that Elaine Walters has been appointed to this fundamental role at the School and Library. She came through a highly competitive selection process, led by search consultants. I look forward to working closely with Elaine in the leadership of these nationally important institutions at a critical time in their history.’

Elaine brings over 20 years of experience in higher education, particularly in change management, operations and planning, and quality assurance.  Elaine has worked for the Civil Service, South Bank University and the Nursing and Midwifery Council before joining the University of London 12 years ago as manager of the Institute of Historical Research (IHR).

‘I am very excited at the prospect of joining the School at this important time in its development’, said Elaine. ‘The post offers some exciting challenges and I look forward to facilitating closer working relationships across the School and between the School and the Senate House Library. For the last 12 years I have been privileged to work with a wonderful team at the IHR. I am very happy to be continuing this relationship albeit in a different way.’

Chris Cobb, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Chief Operating Officer and University Secretary at the University of London, commented: ‘I'm delighted that Elaine has accepted the position to lead the operations of SAS and Senate House Library. Against a strong field of candidates, Elaine shone out as someone with the right blend of skills, tenacity, patience and personality. I'm really looking forward to working with her to implement some challenging targets and to make "one university" a reality.’

Mary Nixon, Acting Director of the Senate House Library, added ‘I am delighted that Elaine Walters will be joining the library team. Her administrative experience and people skills will be a great asset.’

– Ends –

Notes for editors:

1. For further information and to request an interview please contact Dee Burn at the School of Advanced Study at or +44 (0) 20 7862 8670. Images available on request.

2. The School of Advanced Study (SAS) at the University of London is the UK’s national centre for the promotion and facilitation of research in the humanities. The School brings together 10 prestigious research institutes to offer unparalleled academic opportunities, facilities and stimulation across a wide range of subject areas for the benefit of the national and international scholarly community. The member institutes of the School are the Institutes of Advanced Legal Studies, Classical Studies, Commonwealth Studies, English Studies, Historical Research, Latin American Studies, Modern Languages Research, Musical Research, Philosophy, and the Warburg Institute. The School also hosts a cross-disciplinary centre, the Human Rights Consortium, dedicated to the facilitation, promotion and dissemination of academic and policy work on human rights.

3. The Senate House Library is the central library for the University of London. It offers world-class arts, humanities and social science research collections and historical collections in the heart of London’s student and research community in Bloomsbury’s Senate House. Its holdings include three million books, over 1,200 archival collections and a range of digital resources.

4. The University of London is a federal University and is one of the oldest, largest and most diverse universities in the UK. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University is recognised globally as a world leader in Higher Education. It consists of 18 self-governing Colleges of outstanding reputation, together with a number of prestigious central academic bodies and activities. Learn more about the University of London at