IES fellow elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Monday 24 April 2017

Professor John Haffenden (left), senior research fellow at the Institute of English Studies (IES), has been elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

He is one of 40 such members and 188 Fellows in this year’s cohort, which include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business and philanthropic leaders.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and others, the Academy is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centres. The Academy’s work is advanced by its elected members, and its current research focuses on education, the humanities and the arts; science, engineering and technology policy; global security and international affairs; and American institutions and the public good.

Members have included politicians (John F Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Winston Churchill and Nelson Mandela), scientists (Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin and John Maynard Keynes), and cultural figures such as Aaron Copland, John Updike, Georgia O’Keeffe, Laurence Olivier and Akira Kurosawa. Some 250 Nobel laureates are among its membership.

Professor Haffenden is the co-editor of the Letters of T.S. Eliot and, from 2009-14, was the principal investigator of the AHRC-funded ‘T.S. Eliot Editorial Research Project’.

The class of new Academy members will be inducted at a ceremony in Cambridge, Massachusetts, on 7 October.