Arditti Quartet to perform "Nine Memos" by Paul Archbold at musikprotokoll festival

Thursday 4 October 2012

A composition by Director of the Institute of Musical Research, Paul Archbold, will be performed at the musikprotokoll festival in Graz, Austria. Nine Memos for String Quartet will be played by the Arditti Quartet alongside new works by British and Austrian composers.

Nine Memos for String Quartet unfolds continuously in nine sections, each of which explores a different metaphor for the string quartet: light, weight, arabesque, multiplicity, transparency, intensity, fire, stillness, velocity. The work is dedicated to the Arditti Quartet, who gave the first performance in London in January 2012.

Nine Memos for String Quartet will take place in Graz, Austria on Friday 5 October, 2012.
Details and times of the Arditti Quartet performances are as follows:
Fri 05/10, 19.30 | Camp: Black Cube | Christian Ofenbauer (A) & Rebecca Saunders (GB) - Live in Ö1 

Fri 05/10, 23.00 | Camp: Black Cube | Paul Archbold (GB) & Peter Jakober (A)
Arditti Quartet (GB)
Sat 06/10, 10.00 | Camp: Wohnzimmer | Klassiktreffpunkt - Live in Ö1 
With Lukas Fels (Arditti Quartet) (D) and Rebecca Saunders (GB). Presentation: Renate Burtscher (A)

Paul Archbold is a composer of works featuring acoustic instruments and live electronics. His compositions have been performed by several of the leading exponents of contemporary music in the UK and broadcast internationally. He has created several contemporary music documentaries with the filmmaker Colin Still including Climbing a Mountain, a film tracing the Arditti Quartet’s preparations for the première of Brian Ferneyhough’s String Quartet no.6 at the Donaueschinger Musiktage 2010. His compositions include: Impacts and Fractures (string quartet), a little night music (oboe and live electronics), Recoil (piano and tape), Fluxions (oboe and ensemble)

– Ends –

For further information contact:

Dee Burn
Head of Communications and External Relations
School of Advanced Study, University of London
Tel: +44 (0)20 7862 8670; Email:

Notes for editors:

Dr Paul Archbold studied at the Royal Academy of Music and gained a doctorate in composition from the University of Durham. He has held lectureships at the universities of Huddersfield and Durham and is Reader in Music at Kingston University London. He was chairman and artistic advisor of the concert series Musicon and is a member of the executive committee of National Association for Music in Higher Education.

The Institute of Musical Research exists to facilitate research in music of all traditions and eras, and to support freelance and affiliated scholars alike. It runs a busy events schedule, hosts visiting fellows at its London base, supports research projects and groups, and administers a national research training centre and information gateway. The Institute of Musical Research is a member institute of the School of Advanced Study, University of London.

The School of Advanced Study at the University of London is the UK’s national centre for the facilitation and promotion of research in the humanities and social sciences. The School brings together the specialised scholarship and resources of 10 prestigious research institutes to offer academic opportunities, facilities and stimulation across a wide range of subject areas for the benefit of the national and international scholarly community. The member institutes of the School are the Institutes of Advanced Legal Studies, Classical Studies, Commonwealth Studies, English Studies, Germanic & Romance Studies, Historical Research, Musical Research, Philosophy, Study of the Americas, and The Warburg Institute.