Institute Leadership

Institute of Advanced
Legal Studies
(IALS)

Director
Jules Winterton

E: jules.winterton@sas.ac.uk 
T: +44 (0)20 7862 5884
W: ials.sas.ac.uk

Institute of
English
Studies (IES)

Director
Prof Rick Rylance

E: rick.rylance@sas.ac.uk
T: -
W: ies.sas.ac.uk

Institute of Modern Languages
Research (IMLR) 

Director
Prof Catherine Davies

E: catherine.davies@sas.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)20 7862 8739
W: modernlanguages.sas.ac.uk

 

Institute of Classical
Studies
(ICS)

Director
Prof Greg Woolf

E: director.ics@sas.ac.uk
T:+44 (0)20 7862 8702
W: icls.sas.ac.uk

Institute of
Historical
Research (IHR) 

 Director
Prof Lawrence Goldman

E: lawrence.goldman@sas.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)20 7862 8733
W: history.ac.uk

 Institute of
Philosophy
(IP)

Director
Prof Barry Smith

E: barry.smith@sas.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)20 7862 8682
W: philosophy.sas.ac.uk

 

Institute of Commonwealth
Studies
(ICwS)

Director
Prof Philip Murphy

E: philip.murphy@sas.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)20 7862 8702
W: commonwealth.sas.ac.uk

Institute of Latin American
Studies (ILAS) 

Director
Prof Linda Newson

E: linda.newson@sas.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)20 7862 8825
W: ilas.sas.ac.uk

The Warburg
Institute
(WI)

Director
Prof David Freedberg

E: david.freedberg@sas.ac.uk
T: -
W: warburg.sas.ac.uk